TravelCompass Logo TravelCompass Title


Basic Information:

Official Name: Russian Federation
Population: 143,600,000
Area: 17,075,200 km2
Capital City: Moscow
Major Religion: Russian Orthodox
Currency: Ruble (RUB)
Exchange Rate: N/A
Time Zone: Russia has more than one time zone.
Current time: 03:19pm
Phone Country Dialing Code: 7
Region: Europe
Language: Russian
Useful Travel Phrases in: Russian

Climate ():

Practical Travel Information:

Official Tourism Website:
Electricity: 220V
Electrical Socket:

Type C

Type F

Travel Cost: $$$ ($ = cheap, $$$$$ = expensive)
Main Attractions:
  • Kremlin and Red Square, Moscow
  • Historic Centre of Saint Petersburg
  • Kizhi

Health Advisory:

Russian is a semi-presidential republic comprising 85 federal subjects. These federal subjects are grouped into 9 federal districts, with each district having equal representation in the Russian Federation Council.

The nine federal districts are:
Central Federal District, Southern Federal District, Northwestern Federal District, Far Eastern Federal District, Siberian Federal District, Urals Federal District, Volga Federal District, Northern Caucasian District, and Crimea Federal District