TravelCompass Logo TravelCompass Title


Basic Information:
Official Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Population: 23,362,056
Area: 7,687,000 km2
Capital City: Canberra
Major Religion: Christianity
Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)
Exchange Rate: N/A
Time Zone: GMT +10
Current time: 09:47am
Phone Country Dialing Code: 61
Region: Oceania
Language: English

Climate (Sydney):

Practical Travel Information:
Official Tourism Website:
Electricity: 240V
Electrical Socket:
Travel Cost: $$$$$ ($ = cheap, $$$$$ = expensive)
Main Attractions:
  • Sydney Opera House
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
  • Great Barrier Reef

Health Advisory:
  • Yellow Fever (Vaccination certificate may be required if coming from infected area)

Australia is divided into six states and two mainland territories. The statesare New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania. The two mainland territories are Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory.The smaller island territories are Northfolk Island, Christmas Island, Cocos Island, Australia Antarctic Territory, Macquarie Island, Heard and MacDonald Islands, Coral See Island Territory.